How Do I Open a Trust Account at Truist?
Yes. Truist opens deposit accounts in the name of a revocable living trust. Truist's trust account requirements: how an account is opened or retitled to a revocable living trust, the documents to bring, and what the successor trustee needs after a death.
Opening a trust account at Truist
Account types: written trust account (deposit account)
Opening or retitling
- In a branch
- Not stated
- Online
- Not available
- By phone
- Not stated
- By mail
- Not stated
- Appointment
- Not stated
- Co-trustees
- Not stated
- Existing account
- Not stated
- What proves the trust
- Not stated
- Certification form
- Not stated
What it costs
- Opening deposit
- Not stated for trust accounts
- Monthly fee
- Not stated for trust accounts
- Fee waived at
- Not stated for trust accounts
- Other waivers
- Not stated for trust accounts; balances in "Revocable Trust Accounts" count toward the Truist Marquee Checking total combined ledger balance waiver
- Schedule that applies
- Truist Personal Deposit Accounts Fee Schedule (R-FS, Effective 09/28/2026), incorporated by the consumer Bank Services Agreement whose Part C.6 WRITTEN TRUST is the trust account type
- For trust accounts
- The only trust-scoped fee language Truist publishes is a balance-counting rule, not a price: the Truist Marquee Checking total combined ledger balance "is the sum of the actual balances of all your Truist related accounts across personal deposit accounts (checking, savings, money market, CD, or IRA), Trust Department Investment Management Accounts, Revocable Trust Accounts and IRAs, and brokerage accounts introduced through Truist Investment Services, Inc." (fee schedule p. 3; same sentence on truist.com/checking and /open-account). No monthly fee, opening deposit, waiver or exclusion names a trust, written trust or fiduciary account, and the Business Deposit Accounts Fee Schedule does not apply (no written-trust type on the commercial side).
| Account | To open | Monthly fee | Waiver or condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Truist One Checking | $50 | $12.00 | $500 or more in total qualifying Direct Deposits per statement cycle; or a total combined ledger balance of $500 or more in Truist related accounts; or a related Truist personal credit card, mortgage, or consumer loan; or a linked Small Business Checking account; or primary client is a student, under the age of 25, or age 62 and older |
| Truist Confidence Account | $25 | $5.00 | $500 or more in total deposits per statement cycle; or 10 or more qualifying transactions per statement cycle; or primary client is a student, under the age of 25, or age 62 and older |
| Truist Marquee Checking | $35.00 | waived for the first 3 statement cycles; then a total combined ledger balance of $250,000 or more in Truist related accounts | |
| Truist One Savings | $50 | $5.00 | minimum daily ledger balance of $300; or a recurring preauthorized internal transfer of $25 or more per statement cycle; or a minor under the age of 18; or any related Truist checking product |
Who can open it
- Existing customer
- Not stated
Documents to bring
Truist publishes no document list for trust accounts.
Once it is open
- Online banking
- Not stated
- Checks
- Not stated
- Debit card
- Not stated
What to know at Truist
Truist publishes no consumer-banking page on opening a deposit account in the name of a revocable living trust. The deposit-side authority is the Bank Services Agreement's WRITTEN TRUST account type (Part C.6) and its FIDUCIARY clause naming "trustee" (Part C.5); the only opening procedure is the six-step "How to set up a trust account" accordion on the Truist Wealth trusts page, which is hedged ("you'll typically need") and routes the opening through a Truist advisor rather than naming a branch, phone, mail or online channel. Truist's two taxpayer-number sentences do not resolve which number a revocable trust account is opened under: the BSA says "For legal entities, estates and trusts the TIN is their Employer Identification Number", while the Wealth page asks for "A trust tax ID number (TIN or EIN)". Ownership changes are not made by retitling: "If ownership of an account is to be changed, the account should be closed and a new account opened to reflect the ownership designation" (BSA Part C). The only Truist fee schedule served (Effective 09/28/2026) is future-dated; it prices no trust or fiduciary account, and its only trust-scoped sentence counts "Revocable Trust Accounts" toward the Marquee Checking combined-balance waiver. Truist publishes no successor-trustee or deceased-customer deposit procedure; the estate-settlement page covers Truist Wealth's corporate executor and agent services only.
This guide summarizes each bank's published trust-account requirements and is not legal or banking advice. Requirements may vary by state and account type.
Frequently Asked Questions
No. Truist states that a trust account cannot be opened online, and names no other channel.
Truist publishes no document list for trust accounts.
Truist does not state which taxpayer number a revocable trust account is opened under.
A trust account is a deposit account titled in the name of a trust rather than a person — for a revocable living trust, typically "[Trustee name], Trustee of the [Trust name]". While the grantor is alive and serving as trustee, the account is the grantor's to use; the trust title is what keeps the funds out of probate and lets the successor trustee take over without a court appointment.
A trust account holds assets that were titled to a trust before death, and the successor trustee takes control of it under the trust document. An estate account is opened after death by the court-appointed executor or administrator, under the estate's own EIN, for assets that were not in a trust and pass through probate. A family with a funded revocable trust may need only the trust account; a family with a will, or no will, opens an estate account.
Sources
Data sourced from Truist primary sources (10 pages reviewed). How we research.
Is this your situation?
Get a complete guide for your specific circumstances.

New Baby or Adoption
Your family is growing. Your protection should too. Guardian nominations, trusts for minors, beneficiary updates, and the documents new parents need in place.
Learn more
Marriage
What married couples need in place: one joint trust or two, wills, beneficiary updates, and the spousal rights your state grants you automatically.
Learn more
New Home
How to put your house in a revocable trust: the deed you record, what it does to your mortgage and property taxes, and when a TOD deed is simpler.
Learn more
Retirement
Retirement changes your financial picture. Healthcare directives, beneficiary reviews, long-term care planning, and protecting what you've built.
Learn moreMore estate planning resources
Explore related tools and documents to complete your estate plan.
What's Fair Trustee Compensation?
Find out what's fair compensation for serving as trustee. Compare family, professional, and corporate trustee rates based on your situation.
How Much Are Estate & Inheritance Taxes?
Calculate federal estate tax, state estate tax (12 states + DC), and inheritance tax (5 states) for an estate or trust.
How Many Death Certificates Do I Need?
Calculate how many certified death certificates you need based on the assets and accounts you need to close. See state-specific ordering information.
Do I Need Probate?
Answer a few questions to find out if an estate needs full probate, qualifies for simplified probate, or can avoid probate entirely with a small estate affidavit.
How Much Does a Revocable Living Trust Cost?
Compare the cost of creating a revocable living trust. See how SimplyTrust, Trust & Will, LegalZoom, and attorneys compare over 5 years including life events.
What Taxes Apply to My Inheritance?
See which states charge inheritance tax, what federal tax applies, and how long it takes to receive money, property, or retirement assets from an estate or trust.