How Do I Open a Trust Account at PNC Bank?

Yes. PNC Bank opens deposit accounts in the name of a revocable living trust. PNC Bank's trust account requirements: how an account is opened or retitled to a revocable living trust, the documents to bring, and what the successor trustee needs after a death.

Opening a trust account at PNC Bank

Account types: trust account (deposit account) -- "A revocable or irrevocable trust account can be opened by a trustee named in a trust agreement", Virtual Wallet Growth account -- the Virtual Wallet schedule contemplates "an account owned by a living trust"

Where to open it
In a branch
Opened under
Not stated
What proves the trust
A certification of trust or the full instrument

Opening or retitling

In a branch
Available
Online
Not stated
By phone
Not stated
By mail
Not stated
Appointment
Not stated
Co-trustees
Not stated
Existing account
Not stated
What proves the trust
A certification of trust or the full instrument
Certification form
Not stated

What it costs

Opening deposit
$25.00 on every PNC consumer checking, savings and money market product ($0 if a savings or money market account is opened online)
Monthly fee
Not stated for trust accounts
Fee waived at
Not stated for trust accounts
Other waivers
Not stated for trust accounts. Trust-titled accounts may not be eligible to be linked for relationship benefits; a trustee's date of birth does not qualify the account for the age-based waivers (under-25 / 62-and-over)
Schedule that applies
PNC Consumer Schedule of Service Charges and Fees - Checking, Savings and Money Market Accounts (All Markets), effective May 31, 2026 (RDAOPC20-0526); PNC Virtual Wallet Features and Fees (All Markets), effective May 31, 2026
Other charges
Paper Statement Only: $3.00 per statement period on Standard Checking (no charge if a monthly-service-charge waiver option is met), $2.00 on PNC Simple Checking (no charge if the account holder is age 62 or older), no charge on all other accounts; Dual Statement Delivery $3.00 per statement period on most accounts ($2.00 Simple Checking, no charge Performance Select); Paper Statement with Check Images $5.00 per statement period on all checking accounts except Performance Select. Inactivity: the Account Agreement reserves "a nonrefundable inactivity charge" on an account inactive for six or more months but publishes no figure. No early-closing fee is published.
For trust accounts
"Trust" is named among the specialty titlings that "may not be eligible to be linked for relationship benefits" (footnote 12), which removes the combined-balance route to a monthly-service-charge waiver. "The date of birth for a fiduciary (i.e. Rep Payee, Trustee) is not eligible for the waiver" (footnote 5; Virtual Wallet footnote 2), so the under-25 and 62-and-over waivers do not reach a trust-titled account through its trustee. The Virtual Wallet schedule contemplates "an account owned by a living trust" only in its $5,000,000 combined Growth-balance cap. No monthly fee, opening deposit or waiver names a trust account.
PNC Bank's published accounts. The trust account carries the fees of the account it is opened as.
AccountTo openMonthly feeWaiver or condition
Standard Checking$25.00$7.00$500.00 average monthly balance in this account; or $500.00 in qualifying monthly direct deposits; or linked as a benefit account to Performance Select checking or Virtual Wallet with Performance Select; or account holder is age 62 or over; or account holder is a PNC employee
Performance Checking$25.00$15.00$2,000.00 average monthly balance in this account; or $10,000.00 combined average monthly balance across linked PNC Bank consumer deposit accounts; or $2,000.00 in qualifying monthly direct deposits ($1,000.00 for WorkPlace or Military Banking customers); or account holder is a PNC Employee
Standard Savings$25.00$5.00$300.00 average monthly balance in this account; or at least one Auto Savings transfer of $25.00 or more from your PNC checking; or account holder is under age 25; or linked as a benefit account to a qualifying PNC checking account
Virtual Wallet (Spend account)$25.00$7.00$500 combined average monthly balance in your Spend and/or Reserve accounts; or $500 in qualifying monthly direct deposits to your Spend account; or account holder is age 62 or over; or account holder is a PNC Employee

Who can open it

Existing customer
Not stated

Documents to bring

  • Your photo ID
  • Trust agreement: first three pages, the revocable/irrevocable section, signature pages, and any amendments
  • For a certification of trust: the full document
  • Grantor information: name(s), address, date of birth, tax identification number, and date of death (if applicable)

Steps at PNC Bank

  1. 1
    Make a branch appointment for Trust Account Services (via pnc.com appointment setting)
  2. 2
    Bring PNC's published document package:
    • Your photo ID
    • For a trust agreement: the first three pages of the trust, the section stating whether the trust is revocable or irrevocable, the signature pages and any amendments -- or, for a certification of trust, the full document
    • Grantor information: name(s), address, date of birth, tax identification number, and date of death (if applicable)
  3. 3
    The branch reviews the documents and determines if anything additional is needed; PNC contacts you within 4 business days to schedule a follow-up appointment, if necessary
  4. 4
    If you can't visit a branch, mail your documents to PNC Bank, Document Review, PO Box 609, Pittsburgh, PA 15230-0609, Mailstop: P7-PFSC-05-4

Once it is open

Online banking
Not stated
Checks
Not stated
Debit card
Not stated

What to know at PNC Bank

PNC documents trust-account opening only in the "Trust Account Services" section of its Document and Signature Services page, as a branch appointment with a mail-in alternative through Document Review. PNC accepts either an excerpt of the trust agreement or a certification of trust, and requires the grantor's identifying information (including the grantor's tax identification number) under FDIC insurance rules; it does not state whether the account is then opened under the grantor's Social Security number or a trust EIN, whether an existing account can be retitled, whether all co-trustees must appear, or which consumer product the account is opened as. The Account Agreement for Personal Accounts requires any individual acting as trustee (or other fiduciary) to be designated as such on PNC's records, and reserves PNC's right to review and retain a copy of the trust agreement. PNC states no minimum trust-specific opening deposit and no estimated opening time; its published trust-scoped fee language is all exclusionary (relationship-benefit linking and age-based waivers).

Contact: 1-888-947-3762View PNC Bank's guidance

This guide summarizes each bank's published trust-account requirements and is not legal or banking advice. Requirements may vary by state and account type.

Frequently Asked Questions

PNC Bank does not say whether a trust account can be opened online; it states that the account is opened in a branch.

PNC Bank lists: Your photo ID; Trust agreement: first three pages, the revocable/irrevocable section, signature pages, and any amendments; For a certification of trust: the full document; Grantor information: name(s), address, date of birth, tax identification number, and date of death (if applicable). What proves the trust: a certification of trust or the full instrument.

PNC Bank does not state which taxpayer number a revocable trust account is opened under.

A trust account is a deposit account titled in the name of a trust rather than a person — for a revocable living trust, typically "[Trustee name], Trustee of the [Trust name]". While the grantor is alive and serving as trustee, the account is the grantor's to use; the trust title is what keeps the funds out of probate and lets the successor trustee take over without a court appointment.

A trust account holds assets that were titled to a trust before death, and the successor trustee takes control of it under the trust document. An estate account is opened after death by the court-appointed executor or administrator, under the estate's own EIN, for assets that were not in a trust and pass through probate. A family with a funded revocable trust may need only the trust account; a family with a will, or no will, opens an estate account.

SimplyTrustSimplyTrust Editorial·

Sources

Data sourced from PNC Bank primary sources (5 pages reviewed). How we research.

More estate planning resources

Explore related tools and documents to complete your estate plan.

What's Fair Trustee Compensation?

Find out what's fair compensation for serving as trustee. Compare family, professional, and corporate trustee rates based on your situation.

Use Calculator

How Much Are Estate & Inheritance Taxes?

Calculate federal estate tax, state estate tax (12 states + DC), and inheritance tax (5 states) for an estate or trust.

Use Calculator

How Many Death Certificates Do I Need?

Calculate how many certified death certificates you need based on the assets and accounts you need to close. See state-specific ordering information.

Use Calculator

Do I Need Probate?

Answer a few questions to find out if an estate needs full probate, qualifies for simplified probate, or can avoid probate entirely with a small estate affidavit.

Check Now

How Much Does a Revocable Living Trust Cost?

Compare the cost of creating a revocable living trust. See how SimplyTrust, Trust & Will, LegalZoom, and attorneys compare over 5 years including life events.

Compare Costs

What Taxes Apply to My Inheritance?

See which states charge inheritance tax, what federal tax applies, and how long it takes to receive money, property, or retirement assets from an estate or trust.

Learn More