How Do I Open a Trust Account at First National Bank?

Yes. First National Bank opens deposit accounts in the name of a revocable living trust. First National Bank's trust account requirements: how an account is opened or retitled to a revocable living trust, the documents to bring, and what the successor trustee needs after a death.

Opening a trust account at First National Bank

Where to open it
Not stated — contact First National Bank
Opened under
Not stated
What proves the trust
Not stated

Opening or retitling

In a branch
Not stated
Online
Not stated
By phone
Not stated
By mail
Not stated
Appointment
Not stated
Co-trustees
Not stated
Existing account
Not stated
What proves the trust
Not stated
Certification form
Not stated

What it costs

Opening deposit
Not stated for trust accounts. FNB publishes minimum opening balances per product on the product pages, not on the fee schedule (Freestyle Checking: $50 Minimum Opening Balance (Online); $0 Minimum Opening Balance (In-Branch))
Monthly fee
Not stated for trust accounts. Freestyle Checking carries no monthly service charge; Lifestyle Checking $10.00, Premierstyle Checking $25.00, eStyle Account $5.00, FirstRate Savings $5.00 and FirstRate Money Market $10.00 per statement cycle
Fee waived at
Not stated for trust accounts. Lifestyle Checking: $1,000 or more per day average daily balance OR $10,000 or more combined average daily balance; Premierstyle Checking: $7,500 or more per day daily balance OR $25,000 or more combined minimum daily balance; FirstRate Savings: average daily balance of $500 or more; FirstRate Money Market: average daily balance of $5,000 or more
Other waivers
Not stated for trust accounts. No waiver, exclusion or age rule on the Consumer Fee Schedule names a trust, trustee or fiduciary account
Schedule that applies
FNB Consumer Fee Schedule (Effective May 4, 2026; Rev. 05/04/2026) -- the Deposit Account Agreement lists Trust Account among its Consumer Account Types and applies the Consumer Fee Schedule to Consumer Accounts
Other charges
Dormant Account Fee $10.00 per month, assessed after 24 consecutive months of inactivity (eStyle Account no charge); Early Account Closing $50.00 per account if the account is closed within 180 days of opening (eStyle Account, FirstRate Savings, IRA Savings and Private Banking Select Plus Checking no charge); Paper Statement Fee $3.95 per statement cycle on Freestyle Checking, Employee Checking, Student Checking, HSA and WorkPlace First Checking, $2.00 per statement cycle on the eStyle Account; Check Images Fee $3.00 per statement cycle in addition to the paper statement fee; Hold Mail Fee $10.00 per statement cycle
For trust accounts
Nothing. The Consumer Fee Schedule names no trust account, trust product, trustee or fiduciary ("trust" x1 -- the First National Trust Company investment-balance waiver route on Private Banking Select Plus Checking; "fiduciar" 0; control "checking" x44), and the Business Fee Schedule has "trust" 0. The Deposit Account Agreement's only fee sentences reaching a trust account are the account-universal dormancy and early-closing rules.
First National Bank's published accounts. The trust account carries the fees of the account it is opened as.
AccountTo openMonthly feeWaiver or condition
Freestyle Checking$50 Minimum Opening Balance (Online); $0 Minimum Opening Balance (In-Branch)No monthly service chargeNo minimum balance requirement; the $3.95 paper statement fee is avoided with online statements
Lifestyle Checking$10.00$1,000 or more per day average daily balance OR $10,000 or more combined average daily balance, for the preceding month, in any combination of checking, savings, certificate of deposit, IRA, money market accounts or consumer loan balances; service charge reduced to $9.00 with online statements
Premierstyle Checking$25.00$7,500 or more per day daily balance OR $25,000 or more combined minimum daily balance, for the preceding month, in any combination of checking, savings, certificate of deposits, IRA, money market accounts or consumer loan balances
eStyle Account$5.00Make at least ONE (1) deposit OR FIVE (5) customer-initiated transactions during the statement cycle
FirstRate Savings$5.00Average daily balance of $500 or more
FirstRate Money Market$10.00Average daily balance of $5,000 or more

Who can open it

Existing customer
Not stated

Documents to bring

First National Bank publishes no document list for trust accounts.

Once it is open

Online banking
Not stated
Checks
Not stated
Debit card
Not stated

What to know at First National Bank

FNB's only published statement about a deposit account owned by a living trust is one clause of its Deposit Account Agreement (November 3, 2025), which lists "Trust Account" among the Consumer Account Types, defines it as owned by a trust created by a written trust agreement, and makes the trustees named in that agreement the Signers on the account. No page on fnb-online.com describes how to open or retitle such an account: FNB names no channel, no appointment rule, no document list, no proof-of-trust standard, no certification-of-trust form, no taxpayer-number rule, no co-trustee rule and no post-opening feature for a trust account. The agreement's general rule that changing account ownership requires a new signature card is not trust-scoped. Because a trust account is a consumer account type, the Consumer Fee Schedule governs it; that schedule names no trust product and no trust-scoped fee, waiver or exclusion, so the account's cost is whichever consumer product it is opened as. The account-universal charges an inactive trust account is exposed to are the $10.00 monthly Dormant Account Fee after 24 consecutive months of inactivity and the $50.00 Early Account Closing fee within 180 days of opening. The Knowledge Center articles that discuss living trusts and successor trustees (Trust Basics, Bypassing Probate, Wills: The Cornerstone of Your Estate Plan) are prepared by Broadridge Investor Communication Solutions and carry FNB's disclaimer that it does not warrant their adequacy, accuracy or completeness; they are education, not FNB procedure. The Private Family Wealth trust and fiduciary pages describe First National Trust Company acting as corporate trustee, not a deposit account. FNB publishes no successor-trustee or deceased-customer deposit procedure, so no successor limb is recorded.

This guide summarizes each bank's published trust-account requirements and is not legal or banking advice. Requirements may vary by state and account type.

Frequently Asked Questions

First National Bank's published guidance does not state where a trust account is opened.

First National Bank publishes no document list for trust accounts.

First National Bank does not state which taxpayer number a revocable trust account is opened under.

A trust account is a deposit account titled in the name of a trust rather than a person — for a revocable living trust, typically "[Trustee name], Trustee of the [Trust name]". While the grantor is alive and serving as trustee, the account is the grantor's to use; the trust title is what keeps the funds out of probate and lets the successor trustee take over without a court appointment.

A trust account holds assets that were titled to a trust before death, and the successor trustee takes control of it under the trust document. An estate account is opened after death by the court-appointed executor or administrator, under the estate's own EIN, for assets that were not in a trust and pass through probate. A family with a funded revocable trust may need only the trust account; a family with a will, or no will, opens an estate account.

SimplyTrustSimplyTrust Editorial·

Sources

Data sourced from First National Bank primary sources (6 pages reviewed). How we research.

More estate planning resources

Explore related tools and documents to complete your estate plan.

What's Fair Trustee Compensation?

Find out what's fair compensation for serving as trustee. Compare family, professional, and corporate trustee rates based on your situation.

Use Calculator

How Much Are Estate & Inheritance Taxes?

Calculate federal estate tax, state estate tax (12 states + DC), and inheritance tax (5 states) for an estate or trust.

Use Calculator

How Many Death Certificates Do I Need?

Calculate how many certified death certificates you need based on the assets and accounts you need to close. See state-specific ordering information.

Use Calculator

Do I Need Probate?

Answer a few questions to find out if an estate needs full probate, qualifies for simplified probate, or can avoid probate entirely with a small estate affidavit.

Check Now

How Much Does a Revocable Living Trust Cost?

Compare the cost of creating a revocable living trust. See how SimplyTrust, Trust & Will, LegalZoom, and attorneys compare over 5 years including life events.

Compare Costs

What Taxes Apply to My Inheritance?

See which states charge inheritance tax, what federal tax applies, and how long it takes to receive money, property, or retirement assets from an estate or trust.

Learn More