How Do I Open a Trust Account at Bank of America?
Yes. Bank of America opens deposit accounts in the name of a revocable living trust. Bank of America's trust account requirements: how an account is opened or retitled to a revocable living trust, the documents to bring, and what the successor trustee needs after a death.
Opening a trust account at Bank of America
Account types: checking, savings
Opening or retitling
- In a branch
- Not stated
- Online
- Not stated
- By phone
- Not stated
- By mail
- Not stated
- Appointment
- Not stated
- Co-trustees
- Not stated
- Existing account
- Not stated
- What proves the trust
- Not stated
- Certification form
- Not stated
What it costs
- Opening deposit
- $100.00 (Advantage Plus Banking, Advantage Relationship Banking and Advantage Savings)
- Monthly fee
- Varies by account
- Fee waived at
- Varies by account
- Other waivers
- Fiduciary accounts, including trust accounts, are excluded from the Advantage Relationship Banking additional-account benefit and the under-age-25 waiver; a revocable trust account under the customer's own taxpayer ID counts as a BofA Rewards Qualifying Account, and the Preferred Plus, Preferred Honors or Premier tier waives the fee
- Schedule that applies
- Personal Schedule of Fees (effective August 7, 2026)
- For trust accounts
- The Personal Schedule of Fees names "Fiduciary accounts, including trust and estate accounts," in two carve-outs (the Advantage Relationship Banking additional-account benefit and the under-age-25 waiver), and its BofA Rewards terms name the revocable trust by name: an account owned by a revocable trust that uses the customer's taxpayer ID is a Qualifying Account for the grantor's tier, while an account where the customer is merely "trustee of a trust account" is not
| Account | To open | Monthly fee | Waiver or condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bank of America Advantage Plus Banking | $100.00 | $12.00 | $1,500 minimum daily balance, or one qualifying direct deposit of $250 or more per statement cycle, or BofA Rewards Preferred Plus, Preferred Honors or Premier tier |
| Bank of America Advantage Relationship Banking | $100.00 | $25.00 | $20,000 minimum daily balance, or BofA Rewards Preferred Plus, Preferred Honors or Premier tier |
| Bank of America Advantage Savings | $100.00 | $8.00 | $500 minimum daily balance, or BofA Rewards Preferred Plus, Preferred Honors or Premier tier; waived for six months from opening on new accounts |
Who can open it
- Existing customer
- Not stated
Documents to bring
Bank of America publishes no document list for trust accounts.
Once it is open
- Online banking
- Not stated
- Checks
- Not stated
- Debit card
- Not stated
After the grantor dies: the successor trustee at Bank of America
- Death certificate
- Not stated
- Trust's own EIN
- Not stated
- The account
- Not stated
- Online banking
- Not stated
- Appointment
- Not stated
Documents the successor brings
- Death certificate
- Trust agreement (formal trust)
Notification channels published on the Estate Services page and the Resource Guide: online through the Third-Party Case Manager submission form (non-customers) or Online Banking, by phone to the Estate Servicing Operations team at 888.689.4466, or in person at a financial center ("To save time, schedule an appointment online"). Those are the DECEDENT-notification channels; no page states a channel or appointment rule for changing the trustee of record on a trust deposit account. Scan of the Estate Services page (23,884 stripped chars): "trust" 8 (role sentence, "formal trust", glossary and footer), "trustee" 5 (role sentence and the Trustee / Successor trustee glossary entries), "trust account" 0. Resource Guide: "trust" 12, "trustee" 9, "revocable" 0, "EIN" 1 (glossary only). Neither says whether the trust needs its own EIN after the grantor dies.
What to know at Bank of America
SCAN 2026-09-21. Pages fetched and stripped: Deposit Agreement (818 "account", 8 "trust", 3 "trustee", 8 "fiduciar", 1 "certification"); Personal Schedule of Fees (fiduciary/trust lines at the Advantage Plus, Advantage Relationship and Advantage Savings rows plus the BofA Rewards Qualifying Accounts rule); Advantage Banking, Bank Accounts, Savings and Applying-for-Accounts FAQ pages (each carries the same two fiduciary footnotes and nothing else on trusts); Account Ownership Changes (10 "trust", all POD/ITF or footer; no change-to-trust option); Financial Center FAQs and Help Center overview (0 "trust"); Signature Services hub, Power of Attorney, Elder Financial Services, appointment FAQ pages (footer, trusted-contact and POA-on-a-trust-account contexts only); Online Banking Service Agreement effective May 18, 2026 (7 "trust", every one Zelle "others you trust"; 0 "fiduciar", 0 "trustee" -- it states no eligibility rule for trust accounts either way). Bank of America publishes NO trust-account product page, NO opening channel for a trust deposit account, NO downloadable certification-of-trust form (four constructed PDF/page paths 404; the "trustee certification" PDFs on third-party form mirrors are Merrill's), and NO out-of-branch rule. The only place the bank names its OWN Trustee certification form is the Medallion Signature Guarantee page, where it is provided and notarized at a financial-center appointment for securities transfers -- that is not stated as a deposit-opening requirement and is recorded as context only. The Employee Banking & Investing program FAQ (resources.bankofamerica.com/bip/phillips66) is the one sentence naming revocable trust accounts as PERSONAL account types under a trustee's SSN; the BofA Rewards terms in the fee schedule add that an account owned by a revocable trust using the customer's taxpayer ID is a Qualifying Account for the grantor. The appointment FAQ lists "trust documents" among the "Official documentation that the business entity exists" for a business NAME change, a change-of-information context rather than opening. Merrill (investment) trust accounts are a different product with their own CMA Trust Application and Trustee Certification form; nothing from Merrill is used here.
This guide summarizes each bank's published trust-account requirements and is not legal or banking advice. Requirements may vary by state and account type.
Frequently Asked Questions
Bank of America's published guidance does not state where a trust account is opened.
Bank of America publishes no document list for trust accounts.
Bank of America does not state which taxpayer number a revocable trust account is opened under.
Per Bank of America's published procedure, the successor brings: Death certificate; Trust agreement (formal trust).
A trust account is a deposit account titled in the name of a trust rather than a person — for a revocable living trust, typically "[Trustee name], Trustee of the [Trust name]". While the grantor is alive and serving as trustee, the account is the grantor's to use; the trust title is what keeps the funds out of probate and lets the successor trustee take over without a court appointment.
A trust account holds assets that were titled to a trust before death, and the successor trustee takes control of it under the trust document. An estate account is opened after death by the court-appointed executor or administrator, under the estate's own EIN, for assets that were not in a trust and pass through probate. A family with a funded revocable trust may need only the trust account; a family with a will, or no will, opens an estate account.
Sources
Data sourced from Bank of America primary sources (7 pages reviewed). How we research.
Is this your situation?
Get a complete guide for your specific circumstances.

New Baby or Adoption
Your family is growing. Your protection should too. Guardian nominations, trusts for minors, beneficiary updates, and the documents new parents need in place.
Learn more
Marriage
What married couples need in place: one joint trust or two, wills, beneficiary updates, and the spousal rights your state grants you automatically.
Learn more
New Home
How to put your house in a revocable trust: the deed you record, what it does to your mortgage and property taxes, and when a TOD deed is simpler.
Learn more
Retirement
Retirement changes your financial picture. Healthcare directives, beneficiary reviews, long-term care planning, and protecting what you've built.
Learn moreMore estate planning resources
Explore related tools and documents to complete your estate plan.
What's Fair Trustee Compensation?
Find out what's fair compensation for serving as trustee. Compare family, professional, and corporate trustee rates based on your situation.
How Much Are Estate & Inheritance Taxes?
Calculate federal estate tax, state estate tax (12 states + DC), and inheritance tax (5 states) for an estate or trust.
How Many Death Certificates Do I Need?
Calculate how many certified death certificates you need based on the assets and accounts you need to close. See state-specific ordering information.
Do I Need Probate?
Answer a few questions to find out if an estate needs full probate, qualifies for simplified probate, or can avoid probate entirely with a small estate affidavit.
How Much Does a Revocable Living Trust Cost?
Compare the cost of creating a revocable living trust. See how SimplyTrust, Trust & Will, LegalZoom, and attorneys compare over 5 years including life events.
What Taxes Apply to My Inheritance?
See which states charge inheritance tax, what federal tax applies, and how long it takes to receive money, property, or retirement assets from an estate or trust.