How Do I Open a Trust Account at TD Bank?

Yes. TD Bank opens deposit accounts in the name of a revocable living trust. TD Bank's trust account requirements: how an account is opened or retitled to a revocable living trust, the documents to bring, and what the successor trustee needs after a death.

Opening a trust account at TD Bank

Account types: checking, savings

Where to open it
Not stated — contact TD Bank
Opened under
Not stated
What proves the trust
The full trust instrument

Opening or retitling

In a branch
Not stated
Online
Not stated
By phone
Not stated
By mail
Not stated
Appointment
Not stated
Co-trustees
Not stated
Existing account
Not stated
What proves the trust
The full trust instrument
Certification form
Not stated

What it costs

Opening deposit
$0.00 on every TD personal checking and savings product (TD Beyond Checking, TD Complete Checking, TD Essential Banking, TD Simple Savings, TD Signature Savings); $250.00 to open a TD Choice CD or TD No Catch CD
Monthly fee
Not stated for trust accounts
Fee waived at
Not stated for trust accounts
Other waivers
Not stated for trust accounts. The age-based waivers (TD Complete Checking primary account holder 17 through 23; TD Essential Banking 13 through 17; TD Simple Savings age 18 or younger or 62 or older) are written for the primary account holder's age; TD does not say whether a trustee's age counts. A trust set up with a Social Security Number or Tax Identification Number does qualify as an owner for the TD Simple Savings 12-month recurring-transfer waiver and the TD Signature Savings Rate Bump
Schedule that applies
Personal Deposit Account Agreement 62-7340-DG (0826) incorporating the Personal Account Maintenance Information grid 5910-RET (07/26) and the Personal Fee Schedule 5911-RET (07/26), with the per-product Account Guides (Beyond 19000-CK, Complete 42715-CK, Essential 38531-CK, Signature Savings 36761-SV, Simple Savings 19008-SV, all (07/26)). The Business Deposit Account Agreement 40890-SB (06/26) also names a trust as an account-opening "You"; TD publishes no rule assigning a revocable living trust to either side
Other charges
Paper statement $3.00 per statement cycle (TD Beyond Checking, TD Complete Checking, and the Personal Fee Schedule generally; Free for TD Complete primary account holders aged 60 and above), $1.00 on TD Essential Banking; printed check images with paper statement $2.00 per statement cycle (Free on TD Beyond Checking). No dormant or inactive-account fee is published: the PDA says only that TD may stop sending statements once "your Checking Account has been inactive for more than 6 months or your Savings Account has been inactive for more than 9 months" and that abandoned funds are turned over to the state. No early-closing fee is published.
For trust accounts
The personal fee documents name no trust. The PDA names a trust by name only in eligibility tables: "For personal and certain personal trust TD Signature Savings Accounts, earn a higher interest rate, known as a Rate Bump", with the ownership requirement "Individual, Primary or Secondary Owner, OR Trust set up with a Social Security Number or Tax Identification Number, or be a Trustee of such a Trust Account" (the same row appears for Personal Checking as a linkable account and for the TD Simple Savings waiver), and warns that "TD may link your TD Signature Savings account to an Eligible Account for which you serve as a trustee. This could result in either of your Accounts receiving a financial benefit, which may be a violation of your fiduciary duties." On the business side, the BDAA states "there is no minimum requirement for a Trust CD" (a business Jumbo/Trust CD clause; rates "available in the Stores upon request"). No monthly fee, waiver or exclusion is stated for a trust account.
TD Bank's published accounts. The trust account carries the fees of the account it is opened as.
AccountTo openMonthly feeWaiver or condition
TD Beyond Checking$0.00$25.00Maintain $5,000 or more in direct deposits within a statement cycle; or maintain a $2,500 minimum daily balance; or maintain a $25,000 minimum daily combined balance of all deposit accounts, home equity loans/lines and mortgages that you choose to link
TD Complete Checking$0.00$15.00Receive $500 or more in direct deposits within a statement cycle; or maintain a $500 minimum daily balance; or maintain a $5,000 minimum daily combined balance of all deposit accounts that you choose to link; or the Primary account holder is 17 through 23 years of age
TD Essential Banking$0.00$4.95Waived when the Primary account holder is age 13 through 17
TD Simple Savings$0.00$5.00Maintain a $300 minimum daily balance; or are age 18 or younger, or 62 or older; or complete a monthly recurring transfer of $25 or more from an eligible and linked TD Bank Checking account (first 12 months only); or link to a TD Beyond Checking or TD Complete Checking
TD Signature Savings$0.00$15.00Maintain a $10,000 minimum daily balance; or link to a TD Beyond Checking or TD Complete Checking account

Who can open it

Existing customer
Not stated

Documents to bring

  • Written trust agreement, provided at account opening
  • Certified copy of the trust instrument, if TD requests it
  • Identification of each person opening: name, legal address, date of birth, SSN or TIN; ID documents on request

Once it is open

Online banking
Not stated
Checks
Not stated
Debit card
Not stated

What to know at TD Bank

TD Bank, N.A. publishes no US page describing how a grantor opens or retitles a deposit account in the name of a revocable living trust: no channel list, no document checklist, no appointment rule, no certification-of-trust form, and no statement of whose taxpayer number the account uses. What is verifiable is the Personal Deposit Account Agreement's Trust Accounts ownership section: an account designated as a trust Account without a written trust agreement provided at opening is a Revocable Unwritten Trust (an in-trust-for account); an account opened "as trustee of a written trust" is transacted only by the trustee as the trust instrument designates, and TD can request a certified copy of the trust instrument. The same agreement treats a "Trust set up with a Social Security Number or Tax Identification Number" as an eligible owner of TD Signature Savings, TD Simple Savings and Personal Checking accounts for its Rate Bump and waiver rules, which is the only place TD names the two taxpayer numbers side by side. The Business Deposit Account Agreement separately names a trust among the business-purpose entities that may open an Account; TD publishes no rule assigning a revocable living trust to the personal or the business side. TD publishes no successor-trustee procedure for US deposit accounts; the estate materials that surface on td.com are TD Canada Trust content.

Contact: 1-866-235-1248View TD Bank's guidance

This guide summarizes each bank's published trust-account requirements and is not legal or banking advice. Requirements may vary by state and account type.

Frequently Asked Questions

TD Bank's published guidance does not state where a trust account is opened.

TD Bank lists: Written trust agreement, provided at account opening; Certified copy of the trust instrument, if TD requests it; Identification of each person opening: name, legal address, date of birth, SSN or TIN; ID documents on request. What proves the trust: the full trust instrument.

TD Bank does not state which taxpayer number a revocable trust account is opened under.

A trust account is a deposit account titled in the name of a trust rather than a person — for a revocable living trust, typically "[Trustee name], Trustee of the [Trust name]". While the grantor is alive and serving as trustee, the account is the grantor's to use; the trust title is what keeps the funds out of probate and lets the successor trustee take over without a court appointment.

A trust account holds assets that were titled to a trust before death, and the successor trustee takes control of it under the trust document. An estate account is opened after death by the court-appointed executor or administrator, under the estate's own EIN, for assets that were not in a trust and pass through probate. A family with a funded revocable trust may need only the trust account; a family with a will, or no will, opens an estate account.

SimplyTrustSimplyTrust Editorial·

Sources

Data sourced from TD Bank primary sources (13 pages reviewed). How we research.

More estate planning resources

Explore related tools and documents to complete your estate plan.

What's Fair Trustee Compensation?

Find out what's fair compensation for serving as trustee. Compare family, professional, and corporate trustee rates based on your situation.

Use Calculator

How Much Are Estate & Inheritance Taxes?

Calculate federal estate tax, state estate tax (12 states + DC), and inheritance tax (5 states) for an estate or trust.

Use Calculator

How Many Death Certificates Do I Need?

Calculate how many certified death certificates you need based on the assets and accounts you need to close. See state-specific ordering information.

Use Calculator

Do I Need Probate?

Answer a few questions to find out if an estate needs full probate, qualifies for simplified probate, or can avoid probate entirely with a small estate affidavit.

Check Now

How Much Does a Revocable Living Trust Cost?

Compare the cost of creating a revocable living trust. See how SimplyTrust, Trust & Will, LegalZoom, and attorneys compare over 5 years including life events.

Compare Costs

What Taxes Apply to My Inheritance?

See which states charge inheritance tax, what federal tax applies, and how long it takes to receive money, property, or retirement assets from an estate or trust.

Learn More