How Do I Open a Trust Account at Regions?

Yes. Regions opens deposit accounts in the name of a revocable living trust. Regions's trust account requirements: how an account is opened or retitled to a revocable living trust, the documents to bring, and what the successor trustee needs after a death.

Opening a trust account at Regions

Where to open it
Not stated — contact Regions
Opened under
Not stated
What proves the trust
The full trust instrument

Opening or retitling

In a branch
Not stated
Online
Not stated
By phone
Not stated
By mail
Not stated
Appointment
Not stated
Co-trustees
Not stated
Existing account
Not stated
What proves the trust
The full trust instrument
Certification form
Not stated

What it costs

Opening deposit
Not stated for trust accounts. Every personal checking and money market product and both adult savings products on the Personal Pricing Schedule carry a $25 minimum opening deposit
Monthly fee
Not stated for trust accounts
Fee waived at
Not stated for trust accounts
Other waivers
Not stated for trust accounts. A related account titled with a Trustee, Co-Trustee or Grantor ownership designation counts toward LifeGreen Preferred Checking relationship pricing (Personal and Private Wealth Management schedules); on the Business schedule, Trust accounts are excluded from the $30,000 related non-personal balance that waives the Advantage Business Checking monthly fee
Schedule that applies
Not published for trust accounts. The Regions Deposit Agreement (09/26) incorporates "our pricing schedule" without assigning a formal trust account to the Personal, Business or Private Wealth Management schedule (each Effective September 9, 2026)
Other charges
Paper Statement $3.00 (LifeGreen Checking and 62+ LifeGreen Checking price it into the $11 with paper statements monthly fee; LifeGreen Preferred Checking $0); Printed Check Images With Paper Statement $4.00; Deluxe Check Images With Paper Statement $5.00/month; Early Account Closing (within 180 days) $25.00. Dormancy: the Deposit Agreement reserves "a reasonable service charge" on abandoned or dormant accounts but publishes no figure; inactive checking and money market accounts (92 days with no customer-initiated activity) may be moved to quarterly statements while "Monthly account fees will continue to apply."
For trust accounts
Personal and PWM schedules, Relationship Checking Account Ownership Requirements: a related account may be "established with one of the following ownership designations", a list that includes "Co-Trustee", "Grantor" and "Trustee" -- trust-titled accounts are contemplated on the personal side and count toward the LifeGreen Preferred Checking waiver. Business schedule, Advantage Business Checking footnote 4: "Combined balances in related non-personal accounts can include $30,000 in non-personal checking, savings and money market accounts (excluding Public Funds, IOLTA IOTA, and Trust accounts)" -- a trust account cannot supply that waiver balance. No schedule names a trust product, a trust opening deposit or a trust monthly fee.
Regions's published accounts. The trust account carries the fees of the account it is opened as.
AccountTo openMonthly feeWaiver or condition
LifeGreen Preferred Checking$25$18$5,000 average monthly balance; or combined Regions deposit balances of $25,000; or combined $25,000 Regions loan balances; or any first-lien Regions home mortgage in good standing
LifeGreen Checking$25$8 with online statements or $11 with paper statementsACH direct deposit of at least $500 (or $1,000 combined) per statement period; or $1,500 average monthly balance
LifeGreen eAccess Account$25$8At least 10 Regions CheckCard and/or credit card purchases per statement period
Regions Savings$25$5$300 minimum daily balance
LifeGreen Savings$25$0Not applicable (requires opening or maintaining a Regions checking account)
Premium Money Market$25$15Minimum daily balance of $15,000; or opening or maintaining a LifeGreen Preferred Checking account

Who can open it

Existing customer
Not stated

Documents to bring

  • Written trust agreement (or the will creating the trust), provided at account opening
  • Certificates, affidavits or instruments attesting to the terms of the trust, if Regions requires them

Once it is open

Online banking
Not stated
Checks
Not stated
Debit card
Not stated

What to know at Regions

Regions documents trust deposit accounts only in its Deposit Agreement: Section 24 (Formal Trust Account) defines the account as one held by trustees under a written trust agreement or will provided at opening, reserves Regions' option to require certificates, affidavits or instruments from the trustees or beneficiaries, and lets Regions accept those in lieu of reviewing the trust instrument; Section 30 (Fiduciary Accounts) disclaims any duty to supervise trust-account transactions and makes the depositors indemnify the bank. Regions publishes no trust-account opening page, channel, appointment rule, retitling procedure, taxpayer-number rule, co-trustee rule, document checklist, certification-of-trust form, estimated opening time, or product assignment; the Personal and Private Wealth Management pricing schedules contemplate Trustee, Co-Trustee and Grantor ownership designations on related deposit accounts, and the Business schedule excludes Trust accounts from one waiver balance. After a trustee's death or replacement, Section 24 says only that Regions will not release funds "until we are satisfied that all required legal documents have been delivered to us"; no successor-trustee procedure is published. Regions Private Wealth Management offers advisor-managed trust services (Regions as trustee or agent), which is a different product from a deposit account titled to a client's own revocable trust. To reach a banker: 1-800-REGIONS (734-4667), or the Make an Appointment page (banker by phone or in person).

This guide summarizes each bank's published trust-account requirements and is not legal or banking advice. Requirements may vary by state and account type.

Frequently Asked Questions

Regions's published guidance does not state where a trust account is opened.

Regions lists: Written trust agreement (or the will creating the trust), provided at account opening; Certificates, affidavits or instruments attesting to the terms of the trust, if Regions requires them. What proves the trust: the full trust instrument.

Regions does not state which taxpayer number a revocable trust account is opened under.

A trust account is a deposit account titled in the name of a trust rather than a person — for a revocable living trust, typically "[Trustee name], Trustee of the [Trust name]". While the grantor is alive and serving as trustee, the account is the grantor's to use; the trust title is what keeps the funds out of probate and lets the successor trustee take over without a court appointment.

A trust account holds assets that were titled to a trust before death, and the successor trustee takes control of it under the trust document. An estate account is opened after death by the court-appointed executor or administrator, under the estate's own EIN, for assets that were not in a trust and pass through probate. A family with a funded revocable trust may need only the trust account; a family with a will, or no will, opens an estate account.

SimplyTrustSimplyTrust Editorial·

Sources

Data sourced from Regions primary sources (14 pages reviewed). How we research.

More estate planning resources

Explore related tools and documents to complete your estate plan.

What's Fair Trustee Compensation?

Find out what's fair compensation for serving as trustee. Compare family, professional, and corporate trustee rates based on your situation.

Use Calculator

How Much Are Estate & Inheritance Taxes?

Calculate federal estate tax, state estate tax (12 states + DC), and inheritance tax (5 states) for an estate or trust.

Use Calculator

How Many Death Certificates Do I Need?

Calculate how many certified death certificates you need based on the assets and accounts you need to close. See state-specific ordering information.

Use Calculator

Do I Need Probate?

Answer a few questions to find out if an estate needs full probate, qualifies for simplified probate, or can avoid probate entirely with a small estate affidavit.

Check Now

How Much Does a Revocable Living Trust Cost?

Compare the cost of creating a revocable living trust. See how SimplyTrust, Trust & Will, LegalZoom, and attorneys compare over 5 years including life events.

Compare Costs

What Taxes Apply to My Inheritance?

See which states charge inheritance tax, what federal tax applies, and how long it takes to receive money, property, or retirement assets from an estate or trust.

Learn More