How Do I Open a Trust Account at KeyBank?

Yes. KeyBank opens deposit accounts in the name of a revocable living trust. KeyBank's trust account requirements: how an account is opened or retitled to a revocable living trust, the documents to bring, and what the successor trustee needs after a death.

Opening a trust account at KeyBank

Account types: trust account

Where to open it
In a branch
Opened under
Not stated
What proves the trust
The full trust instrument

Opening or retitling

In a branch
Available
Online
Not available
By phone
Not stated
By mail
Not stated
Appointment
Not stated
Co-trustees
Not stated
Existing account
Not stated
What proves the trust
The full trust instrument
Certification form
Not stated

What it costs

Opening deposit
Not stated for trust accounts
Monthly fee
Not stated for trust accounts
Fee waived at
Not stated for trust accounts
Other waivers
Not stated for trust accounts. Trust-titled balances and the Trustee role count toward Key Private Client Checking's $200,000 aggregate-balance eligibility; small-business combined-balance waivers exclude "certain business accounts opened for the benefit of others" without naming trusts
Schedule that applies
Not stated for trust accounts; Personal Checking Account Fees and Disclosures (Greater Cleveland: Key Smart Checking effective January 12, 2026; Key Select Checking and Key Private Client Checking effective March 13, 2026) or Small Business Checking Account Fees and Disclosures (Greater Cleveland, effective January 12, 2026)
Other charges
Paper Statement Fee $0.00 per statement cycle on every personal product read (Key Smart Checking, Key Select Checking, KeyBank Hassle-Free Account, Key Private Client Checking, Key Private Bank Checking, Key Active Saver); Imaged Item(s) with Statement Charge $3.00 per statement cycle (Key Smart Checking); Returned Statement Handling Charge $10.00 (Key Select Checking, Key Active Saver, Hassle-Free). No dormant-account fee and no early-closing fee published; an inactive interest-bearing account (balance under $5000.00, no customer-initiated activity for 3 months checking / 12 months savings) has its rate reduced to .01 % rather than charged.
For trust accounts
Key Private Client Checking balance aggregation: "Eligible Account Types: Individual, Trust and Sole-Proprietorship accounts Eligible Ownership Roles: Sole Owner, Co-owner, Power of Attorney, Custodian, Trustee, or Guardian" -- trust-titled deposits and a trustee role count toward the $200,000 eligibility (contrast the estate account, which is excluded). No monthly fee, opening deposit or waiver names a trust account.
KeyBank's published accounts. The trust account carries the fees of the account it is opened as.
AccountTo openMonthly feeWaiver or condition
Key Smart Checking$10.00$0.00
Key Select Checking$50.00$25.00combined KeyBank deposit, CD, retirement and Key Investment Services balances of $15000.00 or more, or eligible direct deposits of at least $3000.00 in a statement cycle (fee waived for the first 3 statement cycles)
KeyBank Hassle-Free Account$10.00$0.00
Key Private Client Checking$50.00$0.00requires $200,000 in aggregate qualifying deposit and/or investment balances (180-day grace period)
Key Private Bank Checking$00.00
Key Active Saver$10.00$4.00no charge if you are an owner on a KeyBank consumer checking account
KeyBank Basic Business Checking$25.00$5.00$1000.00 average ledger balance or $10000.00 combined business balances
KeyBank Business Interest Checking$25.00$15.00$5000.00 daily ledger balance or $15000.00 combined business balances
Key Business Reward Checking$25.00$25.00$7500.00 average ledger balance or $20000.00 combined business balances (no charge for the first two months)

Who can open it

Existing customer
Not stated

Documents to bring

  • Copy of the trust agreement naming the beneficiary, trustee, and trust property, and the trustee's authority
  • Acceptable identification (a thumbprint in certain states)
  • Taxpayer Identification Number certification, with backup-withholding status
  • Any required minimum deposit

Steps at KeyBank

  1. 1
    Gather the Deposit Account Agreement Sec. 2 items: a copy of the trust agreement specifying the beneficiary, the trustee, the trust property, and verifying your authority as trustee to open the account; acceptable identification (a thumbprint in certain states); the Taxpayer Identification Number to certify on the account; and any required minimum deposit
  2. 2
    Visit a KeyBank branch (KeyBank's online application is limited to "Opening an individual account"; a branch appointment can be scheduled at key.com, and some branches are open by appointment only)
  3. 3
    Complete KeyBank's account forms with the banker and certify the Taxpayer Identification Number and backup-withholding status; KeyBank designates the trustee on its records and may close the account if the required items are not provided within a reasonable period

Once it is open

Online banking
Not stated
Checks
Not stated
Debit card
Not stated

After the grantor dies: the successor trustee at KeyBank

Death certificate
Certified copy
Trust's own EIN
Not stated
The account
Not stated
Online banking
Not stated
Appointment
Not stated

Documents the successor brings

  • Original or certified copy of the death certificate
  • Original or certified copy of the trust documentation
  1. 1
    Establish your authority: provide an original or certified copy of the death certificate, plus any additional documentation KeyBank requires for the types of accounts that were active at death
  2. 2
    Gather documents: for accounts held within a trust, an original or certified copy of the trust documentation (KeyBank cannot accept a will as proof of fiduciary authority; documents must be executed or issued within the time allowed by state law)
  3. 3
    Settle the accounts: KeyBank first returns government deposits received after the date on the death certificate, returns ACH payments, stops automatic bill pay deductions and automatic funds transfers, and revokes any overdraft protections; the time to settle varies with the client's relationship with Key
  4. 4
    To get started, call 1-800-KEY2YOU (1-800-539-2968) or visit a branch by appointment (scheduling at key.com/settle)

KeyBank's settlement page names the trust path only as what it accepts to validate authority ("An original or certified copy of the trust documentation") and says hiring an attorney is not required to settle its accounts. Deposit Account Agreement Sec. 18: death "does not end our authority to pay checks signed by you, to accept deposits or to collect items deposited until we receive written notice of your death", and KeyBank may pay checks drawn before death for up to ten days after notice. Whether the trust account continues under the successor trustee, whether the trust must then present its own EIN, and whether the successor gets online access are not published.

What to know at KeyBank

KeyBank publishes no trust-account page; the deposit-side rule is Section 2 of the Deposit Account Agreement and Funds Availability Policy (effective September 18, 2026): a trustee under a written trust agreement must show a copy of the trust agreement specifying the beneficiary, the trustee, the trust property, and the trustee's authority to open the account, alongside acceptable identification, any required minimum deposit and a certified Taxpayer Identification Number. Section 14 states KeyBank offers trust and custody accounts where permitted by law, disclaims liability for a trustee's breach, and says KeyBank can rely on the genuineness of any document a trustee delivers. No KeyBank source mentions a certification of trust, states whose taxpayer number a revocable trust account is opened under, states whether an existing account can be retitled to the trust, or names which consumer product the account is opened as. Online opening: the online application entry screen limits itself to "Opening an individual account" by "An Individual with a valid Social Security Number", and the savings FAQ states "Online account opening is available for opening individually owned accounts"; the branch is KeyBank's stated route for anyone who does not qualify. KeyBank publishes no phone or mail route for a fiduciary account. Co-trustees: Deposit Account Agreement Sec. 9 states "We do not offer Accounts on which two signatures are required for a check or other withdrawal." Fees: KeyBank does not say whether a trust account is priced on its personal or small-business schedule; both are regional (ZIP-selected). The one trust-named fee sentence runs in the trust's favour: trust-titled balances and the trustee role count toward Key Private Client Checking's $200,000 aggregate-balance eligibility. KeyBank clients are offered a Trust & Will discount for drafting an estate plan; that is a third-party document service, not a KeyBank account procedure.

Contact: 1-800-539-2968View KeyBank's guidance

This guide summarizes each bank's published trust-account requirements and is not legal or banking advice. Requirements may vary by state and account type.

Frequently Asked Questions

No. KeyBank states that a trust account cannot be opened online; it is opened in a branch.

KeyBank lists: Copy of the trust agreement naming the beneficiary, trustee, and trust property, and the trustee's authority; Acceptable identification (a thumbprint in certain states); Taxpayer Identification Number certification, with backup-withholding status; Any required minimum deposit. What proves the trust: the full trust instrument.

KeyBank does not state which taxpayer number a revocable trust account is opened under.

Per KeyBank's published procedure, the successor brings: Original or certified copy of the death certificate; Original or certified copy of the trust documentation.

A trust account is a deposit account titled in the name of a trust rather than a person — for a revocable living trust, typically "[Trustee name], Trustee of the [Trust name]". While the grantor is alive and serving as trustee, the account is the grantor's to use; the trust title is what keeps the funds out of probate and lets the successor trustee take over without a court appointment.

A trust account holds assets that were titled to a trust before death, and the successor trustee takes control of it under the trust document. An estate account is opened after death by the court-appointed executor or administrator, under the estate's own EIN, for assets that were not in a trust and pass through probate. A family with a funded revocable trust may need only the trust account; a family with a will, or no will, opens an estate account.

SimplyTrustSimplyTrust Editorial·

Sources

Data sourced from KeyBank primary sources (13 pages reviewed). How we research.

More estate planning resources

Explore related tools and documents to complete your estate plan.

What's Fair Trustee Compensation?

Find out what's fair compensation for serving as trustee. Compare family, professional, and corporate trustee rates based on your situation.

Use Calculator

How Much Are Estate & Inheritance Taxes?

Calculate federal estate tax, state estate tax (12 states + DC), and inheritance tax (5 states) for an estate or trust.

Use Calculator

How Many Death Certificates Do I Need?

Calculate how many certified death certificates you need based on the assets and accounts you need to close. See state-specific ordering information.

Use Calculator

Do I Need Probate?

Answer a few questions to find out if an estate needs full probate, qualifies for simplified probate, or can avoid probate entirely with a small estate affidavit.

Check Now

How Much Does a Revocable Living Trust Cost?

Compare the cost of creating a revocable living trust. See how SimplyTrust, Trust & Will, LegalZoom, and attorneys compare over 5 years including life events.

Compare Costs

What Taxes Apply to My Inheritance?

See which states charge inheritance tax, what federal tax applies, and how long it takes to receive money, property, or retirement assets from an estate or trust.

Learn More